Events

Discover life under the lagoon, join a seashore scavenge or learn about wildflowers on the beach … we run a range of events and activities for all ages. Activities start from the Chesil Beach Centre unless stating otherwise.

Please dress appropriately - that means suitable footwear for outside activities (wellies are helpful for sea shore detectives), warm, waterproof clothing if cold/wet, and sun-cream and a hat for sunny weather. If the weather is really bad, phone the Centre to check the activity is going ahead.

Children are welcome to all activities; however they must be accompanied by an adult unless stated otherwise.

Monday 20 August 2018

Become a seashore superhero and learn how to protect our local wildlife.

Thursday 23 August 2018

Get slimy with seaweed!

Saturday 25 August 2018

Join us for an evening boat trip on the Fleet Explorer to watch the sun go down.

Monday 27 August 2018

Can you complete the Chesil Challenge?

Sunday 2 September 2018

Join us for an evening boat trip on the Fleet Explorer to watch the sun go down

Wednesday 5 September 2018

Join organisers from the Jurassic Coast World Heritage Site and Dorset AONB for a poetry workshop and walk at Tout Quarry on Portland. 

Monday 10 September 2018

Join us for an evening boat trip on the Fleet Explorer to watch the sun go down.

Saturday 15 September 2018

Join your guide to discover the secrets of Chesil Beach and the Fleet Lagoon.

Sunday 16 September 2018

Looking to buy some new binoculars or a telescope? Expert Rob Laughton from Opticron will be on hand to help

Bring family and friends to help look after one of Dorset's most spectacular beaches.

Tuesday 18 September 2018

Join us for an evening boat trip on the Fleet Explorer to watch the sun go down

Tuesday 25 September 2018

Join the Warden for a guided walk along the Fleet Lagoon shore

Saturday 29 September 2018

Had a busy week and need to unwind? Find your inner calm and connect with the wild at Chesil Beach

Friday 5 October 2018

Illustrated talk by Vicky Ashby, Assistant at DWT's Chesil Centre.

Saturday 20 October 2018

A guided walk looking at the gulls, wading birds and geese along Chesil Beach and the Fleet.

Saturday 20 October 2018 - Sunday 28 October 2018

Find out about garden birds, the best things to feed them & how to ready your garden for winter.

Monday 22 October 2018

Walk along Chesil Beach and hunt the strandline for wildlife treasure washed in from the sea

Wednesday 24 October 2018

Get active and have some fun with kids animal yoga.

Thursday 25 October 2018

A gentle, relaxing walk around Chesil Beach, taking in the seasonal wildlife. Over 18's only.

A gentle, relaxing walk around Chesil Beach, taking in the seasonal wildlife. Over 18's only.       

Join our beachcombing expert to search for and discover the stories behind our beach treasures.

Saturday 27 October 2018

Make spooky bird feeders to go in your garden at Halloween.

Saturday 3 November 2018 - Sunday 25 November 2018

An exhibition celebrating the wild nature of Dorset through crafts and artwork at the Chesil Beach Centre

Sunday 25 November 2018

Opticron expert Rob will be on hand to give any advice- try out a wide range of binoculars or scopes.

Saturday 16 February 2019

Join us at Chesil and make gifts for the animals in your garden to show how much you love wildlife!

Saturday 23 February 2019

A children's treasure trail in and outside the Centre looking for clues to solve puzzles about Chesil.

 

CONTACT DETAILS:

Tel: 01305 206191

Email:

Follow us on twitter for wildlife sightings & event details: @DWTWeyPort

Chesil Beach Centre, Portland Beach Road, Portland, Dorset. DT4 9XE

 

home  |  Living Landscapes  |  Living Seas  |  Jobs  |  e-news  |  Contact & Find Us 

 
www.intergage.co.uk | Web site Content Management